New South Wales

The NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian, with the Minister for Mental Health, announced a $90 million investment into aftercare initiatives through suicide prevention funding. The announcement was followed by the launch of the Strategic Framework for Suicide Prevention in NSW 2018-2023. The Framework will guide activities in NSW until 2023 and marks the beginning of the journey towards zero suicides in NSW.

The Mental Health Commission of New South Wales’ Living Well: A Strategic Plan for Mental Health in NSW 2014–2024 serves as the overarching framework for mental health and wellbeing for the period of 2014-2024.

The plan outlines eight key action areas for suicide prevention and incorporates a coordinated, evidence-based response to suicide in the community.

The resultant proposed suicide prevention framework for NSW was released in August 2015. The Strategic Framework for Suicide Prevention in NSW will set out the fundamental principles of suicide prevention, empowering every community to co-ordinate the essential elements in a way that suits their own local needs and conditions.

The NSW Aboriginal Health Plan 2013–2023 envisions health equity for Aboriginal people that contributes to strong, respected Aboriginal communities in NSW, whose families and individuals enjoy good health and wellbeing. The plan makes reference to mental health throughout.

Specific suicide prevention strategies for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples can be found in the national policies.

The Centre for Research Excellence in Suicide Prevention and Black Dog Institute were commissioned by the NSW Mental Health Commission to review proven suicide prevention strategies that could be rolled out in a coordinated way across NSW.

A trial of the systems based approach is being conducted through the Lifespan project. This project is run by Black Dog Institute, in partnership with NSW Health and others. It is funded by a $14.7 million grant from the Paul Ramsay Foundation.

Four sites have been chosen for the trial:

  • Newcastle
  • Illawarra Shoalhaven
  • Murrumbidgee
  • Central Coast.

In 2016, the NSW government announced that they would invest $8 million over four years as part of the 2016-2017 budget to establish a new Suicide Prevention Fund for NSW, to continue to support people at risk.