National Suicide Prevention Trials

In line with the National Mental Health Strategy and its renewed approach to suicide prevention, the Commonwealth Department of Health funded 11 PHNs as sites for 12 National Suicide Prevention Trials. Each trial site will run for three years from July 1 2016 and receive Commonwealth Government funding of approximately $3 million.

The PHNs will administer this Government funding and, in consultation with the local government and community, decide the most effective services and programs to be implemented in their trial area. 

Selection of each trial site was determined with consideration for infrastructure and services available within the region.

Factors considered for selection of trial sites included:

  • their relationship with other suicide prevention activities within Australia
  • the rate of suicide death within the region
  • the Government’s election commitments to metal health and suicide prevention in the region
  • participation in the Primary Health Network Mental Health Reform Lead Site Project (for North Coast NSW, North Western Melbourne, Perth South and Brisbane North).

Due to the complexities of suicide, a one-size-fits-all approach to suicide prevention is not suitable on a national scale.

The causes of suicide, as well as resources and services required to prevent it, are unique for each region and community of the selected trial sites. Each trial site will focus suicide prevention towards a specific priority population and administer prevention strategies reflecting community needs.

NSW is undertaking a suicide prevention research trial in four sites. Funded by the Paul Ramsay Foundation with the support of the NSW Government and NSW Mental Health Commission, LifeSpan will be implemented using a staged roll out over a 2.5 year period.

The Black Dog Institute, managers of LifeSpan, have also been funded by the Commonwealth Department of Health to provide support to the 11 PHNs who are coordinating the 12 National Suicide Prevention Trials.

Details of each PHN, including sub-regions and target populations, are listed below.

New South Wales

North Coast
Sub-regions- Clarence Valley LGA
- Tweed/Byron LGA
- Lismore LGA
- Kempsey LGA
Target populationsNot yet determined

Western NSW
Sub-regionsRemote Western NSW, including:
- Bourke LGA
- Brewarrina LGA
- Cobar LGA
- Lachlan LGA
- Walgett LGA
- Wedding LGA
Target populations- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
- Men in farming and mining
- Youth, particularly Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples

Northern Territory

Sub-regionsGreater Darwin region
Target populationsAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
Link Darwin Suicide Prevention Trial


Central QLD/Wide Bay Sunshine Coast
Sub-regions- Maryborough
- North Burnett
- Gympie
Target populations- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples (North Burnett)
- Men (Maryborough and Gympie)

Brisbane North
Sub-regionsEntire Brisbane North PHN region
Target populations- Young and middle-aged males
- LGBTI people
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
Link Brisbane North Suicide Prevention Trial

Northern Queensland
Sub-regions- Townsville region
- York Peninsula
Target populations- Veterans (Townsville region)
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples (York Peninsula)

South Australia

Country SA
Sub-regions- Whyalla
- Port Lincoln
- Port Pirie
- Port Augusta
Target populations- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
- Men
- Youth
Link Country SA Suicide Prevention Trial


Sub-regions- Launceston
- Cradle Coast (Burnie LGA, Central Coast LGA, Devonport LGA)
- Break of Day
Target populations- Men aged 40 to 64 years
- Men and women aged 65+ (sub group 65 to 74 years, sub group 75 to 84 years)
LinkTasmania Suicide Prevention Trial


North Western Melbourne
Sub-regionsWhole PHN region
Target populationsNot yet determined
Link North Western Melbourne trial site

Western Australia

Perth South
Sub-regions- Rockingham
- Waroona
- Mandurah
- Kwinana
- Murray
Target populationsYouth
Link Perth South Suicide Prevention Trial

Mid-west WA (Country WA PHN)
Sub-regions- Geraldton
- Carnarvon
- Meekatharra
- Mullewa
- Mt Magnet
- Morawa
Target populationsNot yet determined
Link Mid-West WA Suicide Prevention Trial

Sub-regions- Broome
- Halls Creek
- Derby
- Fitzroy Crossing
Target populationsAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
LinkKimberly Suicide Prevention Trial

LifeSpan trial sites (funded by Paul Ramsay Foundation)

(Hunter New England and Central Coast PHN)

Implemented - August 2017
Illawarra Shoalhaven
(South Eastern NSW PHN)

Implemented - August 2017
Central Coast
(Central Coast LHD) 
Implemented - December 2017
(Murrumbidgee PHN)

Implementation - April 2018
Link Illawarra Shoalhaven Suicide Prevention Collaborative

LifeSpan Trial Sites